Skip to content

Walking the Labyrinth

November 17, 2010

A friend of mine, Cindy Pavlinac, has made a living of visiting sacred places and photographing them. I accepted her invitation to participate in the labyrinth walk at Grace Cathedral last Friday night, accompanied by her photographs and the beautiful live music of Martin Gregory on piano.

I don’t know what I was expecting, but God touched my heart.


This photograph to the left is how I felt afterwards. I started at the beginning of the labyrinth, bowing to the docent standing there. I began my journey, and along the way, twisted and turned until I found myself at the middle. Each time the turn faced me towards the front of the cathedral, I stopped and gave thanks. I considered why I was drawn to put myself in the presence of something holy. I felt like I was given an answer:  IT WAS TIME.

It was time for a little magic in my life, something miraculous, something otherworldly and totally off the charts. Time for putting away the toys of playing small, and time to get out the big toys the big girls and boys play with. Time to stand for my stories, getting the moving experiences down on paper. I’d been feeling a little sorry for myself for some would say good reasons. But I’d been self indulgent and focusing on myself, when there is all of heaven out there. My heaven has a small h. It isn’t a place as much as a state of mind. I’d been mired down by things I’d allowed myself to burden myself with, couldn’t get out of my mind, dreaming with dread.

I’d been keeping up the good fight. Trudging through the cold and the difficult. It wasn’t getting any easier. I should have arrived by now. When does it start to get easier? When does it all start to pay off? When is my turn?

Me, Me, Me.

And then I walked the labyrinth. The paper said to walk and think about your life, and leave your burden along the way, or in the middle, or release it when you are done.

Was I done yet? That’s what God asked me. “Are you done struggling? Being frustrated?”
“Yes,” I whispered.
“Proove it.”
“Excuse me?”
“You heard me. Proove it.”
I sat back in my creaking chair, took out my notebook, watched the other pilgrim labyrinth walkers find whatever they were seeking, and took a deep breath and then a sigh. And I saw a new story.
That was Friday night. I am now 10,000 words into this new story. The more I write it the more I love it. Just like the very first one I wrote. And it is no struggle.

It is a miracle. I’m ready for the magic of the season, for those beautiful stories to come rising to the top so they can be told.

What about you? How do you prepare yourself for miracles in your life, those life-changing days and nights? What inspires you? Fills you with desire for magic and unlimited potential?

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2010 11:23 am

    Beautiful message, Sharon. And I loved the photos, especially of the deer in the snow. Yes, I think it’s time that we all walked the Labyrinth.

  2. November 17, 2010 3:58 pm

    I agree with Greg. Gorgeous!

    I know you’ve been walking a difficult path lately and I’m thrilled to see you’ve found a spark. 10,000 words in such a short time frame – you go girl!

  3. November 17, 2010 6:09 pm

    Hi Sharon,
    I always think it is great to hear of events that encourage belief. We all need to believe! I truly hope your path is a bit straighter now. 🙂

  4. November 17, 2010 11:31 pm

    Sharon, I don’t think I could say it any better than the others already have. I hope to hear in the not-so-distant future that this event was in fact THE pivotal one that got “it” all started. God bless!
    -Jimmy

Leave a comment