Skip to content

Life Is: Perfect

September 22, 2010

This is only my point of view. I wear these red plastic clogs with “jewels” on them: hearts, daisies, stars, ’49ers logo and a couple of smilie faces. Helps me with where I am going, my moral compass, as you can see. It really has nothing to do with buying a leather lounge chair. It’s what you do when you’re in it that counts.

When I am creatively writing with some of my friends at our local favorite muse-inspired coffee house,

all kinds of characters come to mind: villains, with diabolical contraptions and evil batmobiles,

Or heroes with sparkling dark eyes, Brazilian accents, saying “Life is full of complications.” (sigh)

rodrigo santoro love actually

I find inspiration in the strangest corners, characters behind every doorway, cash register, in every traffic jam. I have a secret, you see. I’m having the time of my life, and am too busy living in the fantasy that is the story I’m writing, disconnected from the “real” world and firmly planted in my own. I get to kill off the bad ones and inspire the good ones, re-write history if I want, make up special worlds, creatures.

Not every day is a good day. There are dark days ahead, I’m sure. It’s hard to hold on to anything in these changing times, but I don’t get even and I usually don’t carry a grudge. I move on. And try to remember to never give up:

http://www.youtube.com/FamousFailures

Better people than I have failed before, and failed much bigger, but then went on to do the miraculous. I wish I could remember what it felt like to be my granddaughter’s age, when everything was a sacred mystery.

And revenge, payback? Well, that is done better by others, too:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-7OgWcwgB50&feature=related

I’ll just write the story and hope people share my fantasy.
What about you? How do you cope with your reality?
Do you right wrongs and get even in your stories?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2010 5:27 pm

    Sparkling dark eyes, Brazilian accents, eh! Aren’t coffee houses great for day dreaming… sorry, writing (it’s a theme I can connect with… coffee that it is, not Brazilian accents).

    Love the post, Sharon, and the red shoes!

  2. September 23, 2010 11:06 am

    I love this. I know what you mean about just changing life around to suite you better and your characters. There was a scene in the movie A Knight’s Tale, when the knight’s side kick who wanted to be a William Shakespeare, said, “Remember as a writer I can immortalize every blemish, every pimple on your butt.” Obviously a writer wrote this from the heart. So true, never piss off a writer you could end up in their best-seller in the most embarrassing way FOREVER. And the funny thing about it, you know it, the author knows it, but there is nothing that can be done about it. It’s there in print for all to see! I love being a writer.

    • September 23, 2010 11:21 am

      Thanks, Lee. I remember that line.
      And you’re right, being a writer is just the greatest job in the world.
      As long as I’ve got my red shoes and my favorite haunts, life is indeed perfect.

      Thanks for showing up.

Leave a Reply

