Skip to content

I Have Plenty of Time For Everything…except Myself

May 18, 2010

Or so it seems these days.

I’ve always been a haphazard kind of guy when it comes to scheduling things. As I’ve said before in this blog, I kind of do things on the fly.

Guess that makes me a pretty fly guy.

Okay, so my humor needs some better timing. Sue me.

When I started with Wicked Writers, I was semi-unemployed. I was writing freelance sports and doing occasional gigs as an extra in movies like Lottery Ticket and Life As We Know It and TV shows, including 187 Detroit.

Then, I got hired by the U.S. Census Bureau and, suddenly, I was back in the 9-to-5 grind (okay, 7:30-to-4) and all my writing time disappeared.

Of course, you’re wondering how I could lose all my time.

Think about it. Getting to work by 7:30 a.m. means getting up no later than 6:30 (6 or 6:15 is better). That means going to bed by 11 p.m. the previous night (or midnight if I want to watch Jay Leno and Headlines).

I’m tired after work and sometimes take a nap before dinner. I make dinner, eat, clean up and, bam, it’s time to prepare for bed.

How’s that for a shi…pload of excuses, CJ?

I guess what I really need is more motivation. I wrote (and rewrote and rewrote and rewrote) Land of the Blind because I was taking the Writer’s Academy with Harley Palmer. Harley really motivated me to make my best efforts (though she doesn’t think she really did anything – talk about modesty). But, I graduated in March and that’s when the lull really set in.

Ironically, I still do freelance sports for Examiner.com, but what does it take for a 400-word article?

So, after peeking at CJ’s blog, I have decided to rededicate myself to my writing. I have started by making time to write down my story ideas again. During breaks and lunch at work. Relaxing by the computer at home. I even carry a notebook with me wherever I go should I come up with an idea or if I think of

ABC just picked up "187 Detroit." Look quickly for me in the hostage scene as senior detective

some background for a story.

Maybe I can’t be like Western mystery novelist C.J. Box, who writes each morning in Cheyenne, Wyoming and aims for 1000 words a day. I might not achieve the ability to do parts of two or three novels a day like Laurell K. Hamilton. Heck, I might not ever be able to write all day like Stephen King.

It’s just important that I write continuously, write faithfully and write well.

For those who have been wondering why I haven’t put anything new on my Writing.com account, don’t worry. New stuff is coming. But, prepare to be shocked. Because of Harley’s Writer’s Academy, I have to elevate my new stuff to even greater heights.

Wish me luck.

But, do it when I have some free time.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2010 7:15 am

    So excited for you Greg! I’ll get my pom-poms out and cheer you on! You can do it You can do it Yeah Yeah!

    Even one hour instead of TV three or four nights a week is better than nothing. You’re too good to not write, buddy.

    • May 19, 2010 12:48 am

      Thanks for the encouragement, although I do have to actually watch some TV for inspiration. I just picked up all 12 episodes of the old serial “Captain Marvel.” Should let me do a decent workup of “My Dear, Mister Shane” (think of the Andrews Sisters).

  2. May 18, 2010 11:43 am

    Greg, when you have time to read this, great post. I’m excited about your new work and seeing the previous one on the bookshelves soon. Yes, you can do it!

Leave a Reply

